Last Updated:

Delhi Metro: DMRC To Include 15 Stations On Golden Line Corridor. (Photo: PTI)

Delhi Metro’s Phase 4 introduces the Golden Line, replacing the Silver Line due to visibility concerns. With 15 stations, it aims to enhance connectivity, reducing travel time by 2025.

One of the most pivotal developments is the ongoing expansion of the Delhi Metro‘s Phase 4 including the addition of the Golden Line, previously named the Silver Line.

The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation made a major change in the colour code of the Tughlakabad to Delhi Aerocity corridor, changing it from the Silver Line to the Golden Line.

The decision has been taken in the wake of a few concerns, mainly due to visibility issues. Stating that the silver colour was not properly visible on the metro coaches, which also have a silver hue, the colour code will now be in the shade of golden, as reported by Republic World.

In a few other updates, DMRC will include a total of 15 stations on the Golden Line corridor, which spans roughly 23 kilometres. This will not only help to enhance connectivity across the regions and within Delhi but will also reduce travel time for residents and visitors alike. While work on the corridor is presently in progress, it is expected to be completed by 2025.

Golden Line Corridor: Route

Talking about the Golden Line corridor, which spans 23.62 km with 15 stations running in between will link the Kashmere Gate-Raja Nahar Singh Violet Line with the Airport Express Line. The line also includes other stations such as Mahipalpur, Vasant Kunj, Chhatarpur, Khanpur, and Sangam Vihar.

Notably, the 24-km rapid transit line, which mainly aims to connect southern Delhi directly with the Indira Gandhi International Airport, includes the crucial interchange facility at the Tughlakabad Metro Station between the Golden Line and the Purple Line. It has been designed as a four-level underground structure with a 23-metre-deep parking facility and a short subway to enhance commuting and inter-line connectivity.

Other DMRC Corridors

The Delhi Metro is presently working on three major corridors as a part of Phase 4, which will cover a total distance of 65 kilometres. These include the Majlis Park to Maujpur stretch (Pink Line), Janakpuri West to RK Ashram (Magenta Line), and Aerocity to Tughalakabad (Silver Line).

It is pertinent to note that Delhi Metro has colour-coded names for all its operational corridors to help passengers easily identify each one of them. For instance, the Dwarka Sector 21 to Noida/Vaishali metro line is the Blue Line; thus, trains on this line have a blue strip below the windows.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *