Last Updated:

Delhi Metro: Train Speed Reduced Between Chhatarpur-Sultanpur Stations. (Photo: PTI)

Delhi Metro: Yellow Line faces a 20 KMPH speed limit between Chhatarpur & Sultanpur due to tunnel construction for the upcoming Golden Line, causing slight service delays.

The Delhi Metro Authority issued a temporary 20 kmph speed limit between the Chhatarpur and Sultanpur stations on the Yellow Line on April 2.

It is owing to the ongoing construction of a tunnel for the planned Golden Line. The 23.62-kilometer Aerocity-Tughlakabad route is currently under development and will have 15 metro stations known as the Golden Line.

“A temporary speed restriction of 20 KMPH has been imposed between Chhatarpur & Sultanpur on Yellow Line due to construction of a tunnel for the Aerocity-Tughlakabad corridor of Ph 4,” Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) announced via a post on X (formally Twitter). According to DMRC, this may result in a little delay in services.

Many commuters complained that the restricted pace caused them inconvenience. They also stated that the reduced train speeds on the segment have resulted in increased travel times, causing disruptions in their daily routines. Meanwhile, Metro officials announced that trains on this route will resume normal service on May 1.

As per TOI, metro officials stated that the reduced speed between Chhatarpur and Sultanpur stations will remain in effect until April 30 to allow for the completion of the necessary construction.

The Yellow Line, which connects Millennium City Centre in Gurgaon to Samaypur Badli in Delhi, is one of the metro network’s busiest lines.

Delhi Metro’s Phase 4 includes six lines that are now under construction or being considered, totaling 128.81 kilometres. Of these, 46 stations spread over 3 lines (priority corridors) totaling 65.20 kilometres are now under construction.

The three priority corridors are Majlis Park – Maujpur (12.32 km), Tughlakabad – Delhi Aerocity (23.62 km) and Janakpuri West – R. K. Ashram (29.26 km).

The ‘under-consideration’ routes cover 42.26 km and include 33 stations. These include Rithala – Bawana – Narela (21.73 km), Inderlok – Indraprastha (12.57 km) and Lajpat Nagar – Saket G Block (7.96 km). Two other routes are being considered, which include Aerocity-IGDT-1 and Kirti Nagar-Bamnoli Village (METROLITE).

In March, the Union Cabinet approved two more Delhi Metro Phase 4 corridors: Lajpat Nagar to Saket G Block and Inderlok to Indraprastha, which are extensions of the Golden and Green Lines, respectively.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *